2017 O’leary and Blumer Scholarship Award Winners

The Rahway Police Department and Rahway Fire Department are proud to announce the recipients of this year’s Captain Artie O’Leary & Firefighter Harry F. Blumer Sr. Friendship Scholarship Award.
Congratulations to Sarah DeSordi, James Crowell, Alessandra Sabba, Kaleigh Oplinger, who were awarded the Captain Artie O’Leary Scholarship. Danielle McCarthy and Olivia Coyne received the Firefighter Harry F. Blumer Sr. Award.
This annual scholarship is awarded to deserving recipients who are entering their first year of college. The Scholarship honors the late William Arthur O’Leary, a former Rahway Police Department Captain who passed away in 1993, and Rahway Firefighter Harry F. Blumer, who passed away in 2011. Scholarships are awarded to the children of active duty Rahway Police and Fire Department Officers who meet specific criteria. The recipients are selected based upon academic excellence, demonstrated commitment and service to their communities, acceptance to an accredited college or university, and successful completion of the application essay.
The scholarship is generously funded by Bernard Burkhoff, a Rahway businessman, who was a personal friend of Captain Artie O’Leary and Firefighter Harry Blumer Sr. The Rahway Police Department and Rahway Fire Department would like to thank Mr. Burkhoff for his continued generosity and dedication to the scholarship program.

(above) 2017 O’Leary and Blumer Scholarship Award winners with their families.