WHRHS Homecoming Court

Seniors Matthew Canary and Caitlyn Park were named the 2017 King and Queen of the Homecoming Court at the Watchung Hills Regional High School (WHRHS) Homecoming Game, Friday, Oct. 6, at the Warriors’ Tozier Football Stadium.
In addition to Homecoming King Canary and Queen Park, also named to the Homecoming Court are: Vamsi Desu, Andrew Malfetti, Sahil Patel, and Ryan Santos as well as Katelyn Carroll, Nina Goliyad, Emma Sonta, and Jen Walpow.
Kelly explained the process by which the King and Queen were selected.
“Upon returning to Watchung Hills this September,’ Kelly said, “the current Senior class nominated their peers to comprise our 2017 Homecoming Court. The students were told to nominate a male and female student who embodies our Watchung Hills values and traditions.
“The top five nominees for King and Queen were tallied. Thereafter, the entire student body was able to vote on the King and Queen. We accepted and tallied votes up until the end of the first quarter of the game. Prior to the game the court and their families were welcomed with a Homecoming Reception sponsored by our WHRHS All School Council.”
In the game, the Warriors battled Phillipsburg High School Stateliners, but in the end WHRHS lost to perennial state football powerhouse, 35-0.
Warrior senior quarterback Connor James finished with 9 of 21 for 149 yards passing and ran the ball another 10 times for 47 yards. Among the highlights, senior receiver Mike Asante had three catches for 61 yards. Senior running back had two receptions for 42 yards. Senior tight end Jeff Poggi had three catches for 37 yards.

Photo by WHRHS

Court With King and Queen (above) The 2017-2018 WHRHS Homecoming King and Queen, Matthew Canary and Caitlyn Park, center, wearing their new crowns, and their Homecoming Court, gather on the 50 yard line shortly after being named at halftime of the Homecoming Game versus Phillipsburg High School, Friday, Oct. 6, in Tozier Stadium. From left, are: Andrew Malfetti, Vamsi Desu, Emma Sonta and Ryan Santos; Canary and Park; and Nina Goliyad, Sahil Patel, Katelyn Carroll, and Jennifer Walpow.